An iMac workstation should be a bit different

27" iMac and a custom built workstation

When a member of the family recently acquired a new iMac with a 27″ screen, it seemed uncomfortable to use on a normal table or desk. The keyboard should be just above the lap, and the top of the screen should not make me look up, I was told. So we designed this for comfort. The materials are construction 2x4s and the work surfaces are standard shelving. It had to be easy and fast to build.

7 Responses to “An iMac workstation should be a bit different”


  1. 1 Tanya aka @netchick November 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    That looks like an awesome design for the iMac, Robert! Although I’m a PC girl with a 30″ Dell screen, I have the same issues — even at it’s lowest setting, I still look up slightly to see the top of the screen. It’s a little annoying.

    Using an iMac 27″ at work previously, I had the same problem. We should have used desks like this!

  2. 2 Robert November 8, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Thanks Tanya! We designed it using the free 3D software from Google called Sketchup. With that we could see the sight-lines and even where it would go in the room (it is actually very low and small). The shelves are 1′ x 3′. You cannot see the 2×4 that joins the sides and is under the computer shelf. Since the frame is glued, the whole little unit is very solid.

  3. 3 ises November 13, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Wow, this table is really what I’ve been thinking! It’s annoyed that I needed to look up to see the top screen of my 27″ imac. Thanks Robert to visualize the comfortable desk for imac user. Really helpful, especially to me. I’ll definitely going to make something like this. Awesome!

  4. 4 Robert November 13, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Ises, thanks for the comment. I’d love to see pictures of your finished construction.

    • 5 Mrs. S. October 15, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      Hi Robert: It’s been almost two years since you posted this picture of your IMac desk that you made, but I think it’s awesome and it’s just what I need and I would really like to make one myself…Is there any way you could give me all the dimensions of your desk? I see that the top/front desk board is 3 ft. x 1 ft. but how high from the ground is the board in the back?? Is the back board also 3 ft. x 1 ft.?? Any details would be appreciated-this would be a life-saver!! Mrs. S.

  5. 6 Robert October 16, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Mrs. S., thanks for the comment, I will dig up the plan and post about them here.

  6. 7 Robert October 16, 2013 at 1:07 am

    To see these pics full size, please right-click and open in a new tab or new window.

    I used Sketchup to design the desk. It is for my wife, and I began by having her adjust her office chair for keyboarding; then measured the ideal height of her keyboard. Next I had her show me exactly where she wanted the top and bottom of the iMac screen. These measurements would be different for someone else. All of this is lower than I would require for my computer in my office.)

    The size of the major elements of the desk was designed in Sketchup

    The size of the major elements of the desk was designed in Sketchup

    The frame is construction grade 2x4s. The desktops are 1’x3′ shelving.

    Detail of the joints for the 2x4 frame for the iMac desk

    Detail of the joints for the 2×4 frame for the iMac desk


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 134,036 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

