The old Montreal Centre, RASC, observatory

I was watching the charming movie, Helicopter Canada, made in 1966 by the National Film Board to celebrate the upcoming National Centennial.
https://www.nfb.ca/film/helicopter_canada

In a brief scene showing Molson’s Stadium on Mount Royal, at the top of University Street on the McGill campus, I spotted the little observatory of the Montreal Centre of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. http://goo.gl/maps/Akxi6

The observatory is gone now. It is where I spent many evenings during the mid-sixties. There, I learned astronomy from the wonderful members of the RASC. And that led to a 20-year career in planetariums.
Old Montreal Centre, RASC, observatory on Mount Royal

Edited to add: Searching on the Internet, I found a picture of the 6-inch refractor that was housed in the observatory’s dome. I remember it was an accomplishment for me to be trusted to open the observatory and navigate the sky with that instrument. The image is posted at the site of Geof Gaherty, who in the 60s, was older than me and one of the Montreal Centre’s most accomplished amateur astronomers. Click here for the picture.

1 Response to “The old Montreal Centre, RASC, observatory”


  1. 1 Howard Simkover February 25, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Great stuff, Robert…How well we remember the old Observatory just next to Molson Stadium….I recall that it was originally a building used for radar research during WW 2. We both turned up at RASC meetings at around the same time – late 1963….Maybe you were there on February 15, 1964 when I brought a cake for Galileo’s 400th birthday….I wish I had had the foresight to photograph the cake, but I remember that it said on it “Happy Birthday Galileo”. Time flies right along….Cheers, Howard


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 135,511 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

