This post is part of joining Technorati

Technorati Profile

Well, these are the instructions from technorati that are required to prove that I manage this blog. Edit to comment that Technorati was not working! Edited again when the problem seemed resolved. Read on for details.

Technorati Tags: , , ,


Here is the process required by Technorati…

Claim Your Blog Using Post Claim
All you need to do is create a post using the code below and publish it to your blog! After Technorati’s spiders have seen it, you can delete it. (You’ll know they’ve seen it when you come to your Technorati account page and this blog shows as claimed, and not “in progress”).

WordPress.com Posting Instructions
Step 1: In another web browser window, log in to your WordPress.com account
Step 2: Click “New Post” to write a new post
Step 3: Copy the code below, then paste it into the main text field of your new post with any Title

<a href=”http://www.technorati.com/claim/tdarxafkfh&#8221; rel=”me”>Technorati Profile</a>

Step 4: Click “Publish” to publish the new entry to blog

and here there is a button that announces: {Release the Spiders}

Edit to comment that Technorati is not working!
First let me comment that I was impressed how quickly Technorati had acquired the tags that I put on the posts. If I search Technorati for some of those tags I could find my article on Technorati within an hour of my posting. I think that WordPress has a way of alerting Technorati.

Now to join Technorati, I have to prove that I control my blog. They call the process Claim Your Blog. There are 2 ways. First, I can trust the Technorati site (I know nothing about the people or the organization, so why would I trust them?) and give them my password. Second, I can post that bit of code you see above. I elected to do that. I posted using Ecto (that turned out to be a mistake). Reading the FAQ, that code is an HTML link, and they wanted to see the link (you should not see the code, you should see the link). So, I went to the WordPress web site, and edited the post to enter the code at the top of the posting. The test was that you’d see the words Technorati Profile and they’d be a link. Well, that’s up there. Clicking Release the Spiders took me to a page that announced they had not found the code. So, I made a new post, no category, no tags, with only the code. Still no joy from the spiders.

So, I gave up and filed a trouble ticket. I was encouraged by a prompt reply… but it was automatic, and suggested:

If you don’t hear back from anyone within a week, please accept our apologies for the delay as we may be experiencing a backlog in Support. Please feel free to send us a reminder of your ticket. Please be sure to include the subject and ticket number, “[Support] I cannot claim my blog – I’ve placed the claim code in my blog, but still doesn’t claim #57934], ” in your note so we may properly track your issue and its progress. In the meantime, you can also check our Support FAQ located at “http://technorati.com/help/faq.html&#8221; which may answer some of your questions.

Not impressed! Stay tuned.

Problem seems solved! It is now about 3 hours later. Was it my trouble ticket, or did some part of the process just take time? I don’t know. I seem to have an account with Technorati, and this site is claimed for me. Good!

2 Responses to “This post is part of joining Technorati”


  1. 1 Artist's in Progress December 31, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Yes, I have gone around the mountain trying to avoid making a boring code as one of my posts! I may find I lose a subscriber or two with shenanigans like that. But, yes: post code, get accepted, then immediately destroy post! Screw it up and throw it in the bin.

  2. 2 Robert December 31, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Hi Matt. You are responding to a article I wrote in November 2006. At that time Technorati had managed to establish itself as Blog-Central. An account with Technorati seemed essential for having browsers find our blogs.

    In 2010, I don’t know how important Technorati is.

    Legitimate WordPress blogs seem to have preferred status with Google. So, a WordPress blog that has regular posts as well as lots of links into the blog (and out), will usually appear well ranked at Google within 10 minutes of posting. The ranking will drop after a few days… so a new post is advisable.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,172 hits

