Forecasting mountain weather

When I can, I like to hike or ski in the spectacular mountain backcountry of Southwest British Columbia. Most official weather forecasts attempt to predict the temperature, probability of precipitation, amount of clear sky, and perhaps something about winds. These predictions are always for urban areas. Frankly, this information is almost useless to the backcountry traveler. For that reason, I have set up my own page of weather resources at Alpine Weather Forecasting Resources. [more…]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,



This page of weather information is completely non-commercial, and is essentially a series of links to the best information I can find on the Internet. If you discover something that is better than I am using, please let me know.

The page is to allow me to research conditions that are developing out in the Pacific Ocean and will drift across Vancouver Island and into the Salish Sea. So, my quest begins with the surface maps of the northern Pacific basin that shows the fronts, pressure, and winds. When I compare that to the infrared satellite image of the same area I can almost see the weather that we will experience.

As someone who grew up in eastern Canada, and spent over a decade in Winnipeg, I am accustomed to weather simply passing overhead. Here, it interacts with the hills. Trying to imagine what conditions will be like after a system spills over the mountains of the Olympic Peninsula, or cold dry air escapes the BC interior and screeches down Howe Sound, is part of the local challenge.

After all these years here I am still amazed that I can walk up a few thousand feet to places where the conditions are dramatically different from life at sea level. To be able to scope this, I like to see the situation from the web cams at 6,000 feet above the town of Whistler. And the forecasts for alpine Whistler and Mount Seymour are useful to confirm my own predictions.

Initially I set up the page simply to aggregate the resources that would take me a long time to visit using bookmarks. Eventually I put the page on the web for anyone to use. It does not receive many hits, but I don’t mind.

Let me know if you find better resources, or of the usefulness of the ones I’ve included. If any of my links belong to you, and you’d like them removed, let me know and I’ll do that.

The page is here: Alpine Weather Forecasting Resources.

1 Response to “Forecasting mountain weather”


  1. 1 kabababrubarta March 26, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Nice site! kabababrubarta


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,776 hits

