Skiing in the rain

Yesterday skiing would have been lovely. But today was the day to ski. It was raining, but backcountry skiers are supposed to be able to cope with any conditions, so off I went. By myself. It was mainly for the exercise. [Pictures and complaining in the next pain pane…]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


387490018 93D1737A50 O387490074 64Ae1Ce009 O

Fortunately I know how to dress for rain. I am completely clad in Gortex. The rain fell in a constant stream of fine drops — almost a heavy mist. It soaked my pack (I protect the contents with a vapour barrier on days like this) and quickly wetted out the Gortex.

I enjoyed skinning up the hill. There were only a few people on the trail. I didn’t bother going to the top. The snow was fairly beaten up by the traffic, and what was left was the dreaded breakable crust. I am glad that not too many people saw my less-than-graceful telemark performance.

By the time I returned to Howe Sound the rain had stopped, the mountains seemed to be shredding the clouds, and there were occasional splashes of sunlight on the water.

0 Responses to “Skiing in the rain”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 154,964 hits

