Deer in our garden

I am delighted to live where these two creatures hardly take notice of me walking by. Here on Bowen Island hunters are now limited to killing with a bow on their own land. I have heard of domestic dogs forming into packs and hunting.

And there are new sightings of a cougar on the island. I cannot decide if that is an urban legend.

I do wish the deer would be more fearful of cars.

I would have their attention if I tossed them a banana peel or an apple core. I’ve seen a mother snatch a banana peel from its fawn.

Technorati Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Deer in our garden”


  1. 1 James Glave June 19, 2007 at 7:27 am

    Actually, longbow hunters are allowed a permit to hunt deer on
    any private land on Bowen so long as they have the landowner’s written permission. Nice site btw.

  2. 2 Robert June 19, 2007 at 10:06 am

    @James, thanks for the clarification.

    Back in the bad old days hunters in camouflage suits would cruise the highways in pickup trucks waiting until no one was watching. Then they’d harvest a load of venison and head for the ferry. I pulled 2 murderous arrows out of trees on our property. The trajectory was from the road directly toward the house and the place where my young daughters played.

    These deer have grown up around my family. They think of the area below our kitchen as the magical garden of falling banana peels and apple cores. They love making a mess of my compost pile.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,489 hits

