On a personal note

For friends and family: the surgery is complete, and I will be around the house for a while. You may have noticed a lack of blogging lately. A few details are in the next pain pane.

Technorati Tags: ,



The gall bladder was removed on Friday the 13th. The first night was not pleasant. My wife didn’t want to take me home on Saturday, and the folks on the 8th floor of St. Paul’s said I could stay another night. So, wounded and enfeebled, I arrived home yesterday on the noon ferry. About 11 PM I suddenly felt a little perkier. And today (Monday) I can spend some time at my computer.

I am really pleased that in the past week I took the time to have a couple of hikes to the top of Mount Gardner, to fill the hummingbird feeders and to cut the lawn before this procedure. Somehow, I was under the impression that the surgery would be more trivial than it was. I am on the mend, and it will be a relief to my hiking and skiing partners that we are not out there playing russian roulette with my gall stones.

4 Responses to “On a personal note”


  1. 1 Dona July 17, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Dear Robert

    I am so glad that it turned out to be your gall bladder and nothing more virulent – although I do remember from my x-ray tech days that it’s pretty rough for the first few days. Maybe we can get you out on Shen (our renamed boat) the first wek of August – no promises, just musing.

    Our best wishes for a speedy and full recovery!

    PS Sure wish I knew how to make this response window larger!

  2. 2 Robert July 17, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Hi Dona, thanks for the good wishes. Yep, it was like taking four bullets to the abdomen. Today (Tuesday) I was able to do quite a bit of work at my desk.

    I was impressed with the folks at St Paul’s hospital. Surgery like this is almost an assembly line process. They have 15 operating rooms, and those seemed to be booked.

    Nevertheless, the process seems to be well thought out. More importantly, all of the people who managed me: those I saw when I went in for the stomach biopsy, the pre-admission clinic, the pre-operation section, the wonderful family in the operating room, the ICU, and then the rotations of people on the ward; all treated me with real caring and interest in my well-being.

    Dona said:

    PS Sure wish I knew how to make this response window larger!

    On some blogs I have a huge comment. What most of us do is compose in some other word processor and paste it into the box. That doesn’t always work… the Tyee.ca limit you to 3000 characters — but that’s not bad.

    I didn’t know about your x-ray days!

  3. 3 ellebe July 18, 2007 at 7:40 am

    hope you continue to improve, friends who’ve had this done say it’s a good thing no-one told them ahead of time of the pain! hope your weather is ok and you can take some pics from your windows until you are able to stroll outside – and upright – soon. speedy recovery…

  4. 4 Robert July 18, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Hi ellebe, Thanks for the thoughts. I was able to do some real work at my desk yesterday. And if it doesn’t rain too much, may go for a walk outside today. BTW, your IP suggests that you might be back in the UK. Will there be pics of your travels appearing anywhere online? Any chance that your quiet blog will soon light up my aggregator?


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,144 hits

