I was a sucker for a tigerdirect rebate scam

Of course I don’t like to admit that I goofed. Since readers of this blog must be at a computer screen, you are likely to be tempted by tigerdirect’s and other’s wonderful offers. Caveat emptor. Read on if you care. Edited to add: as a result of this blog article, the leadership of OnRebate and TigerDirect contacted me. Their comments and contact information is in the comments, below. [click the title if you do not see the rest of this post… ]

Technorati Tags: , ,



First, this has nothing to do with the Salish Sea. But this blog is where I share my experiences with my friends, so please allow this rant.

Here is how it works:

  1. I was attracted to a product at what seems to be a good price.
  2. When I read about the product, it is clear that the price is after rebate.
  3. When I paid for the product I paid full price.
  4. After receiving the product, I had to apply for the rebate.
  5. The rebate application process is a long, confounding, fill-in-many-blanks multi-page web process. Don’t make one mistake! Even though I was on the rebate company’s web site, and have proven that I am the customer, the result of the process is a form that I have to print out, sign, attach a further proof-of-purchase, and mail in.
  6. The printed form was mailed in according to instructions.
  7. In my case, no cheque was sent to, nor was a reason for refusal given. That was the end of it.

How did I goof? The fine print said that I had to apply for the rebate within 30 days. I bought the refurbished computer screen for $140 -$40 rebate on Dec. 2. I packaged it as an x-mas present. In mid January the recipient of the present (my wife) said the rebate process was annoying, and since the present was from me, I should do it. I did, but had never noticed that we were already too late.

Actually, the first time she attempted the rebate process, we were within the time-limits. So, the effective rebate tactic was to make the process difficult, and to delay us applying. And to enforce an arbitrary 30-day limit for the application.

How difficult could step #5 be? I am a consultant, and on that day, I was logging my time. I proceeded as quickly as I could, but still with care. My records show that I began the rebate application at 8:38 AM, and concluded by printing out and signing the rebate form at 9:32 AM. The process took 54 minutes! That included going to the actual product to find the serial number. If I were really going to receive the cheque, I could argue that the $40 was a reasonable wage for the hour’s work. I could also argue that none of it was necessary. When I paid for the product, their computer could have completed the rebate process without any further action from me.

I then heard nothing.

It it was July when my wife said the rebate cheque had never arrived. So, I called tigerdirect. The patient customer service person at tigerdirect tried to send me to OnRebate. I said no, my business was with Tigerdirect, not the rebate company. She took me through the process of the query with OnRebate to the point where we could see the report online.

onrebate status report

You may decide that I was just careless about the terms of the rebate and therefore deserve to lose it. Sure, that’s fair, and I began with Caveat emptor.

My conclusion is that the concept of rebates is a deliberate tactic to allow the vendor to announce a low price for a product, knowing that first the customer will actually pay full price, and then a significant number of customers will never collect the rebate. The process is designed to be as arcane as a computer game, so if you make one mistake, you lose. The process is unnecessarily very long, and it is easy to slip up on one of a host of technicalities.

This is actually poor customer service, in my opinion.

It seems that others agree with me (there is lots more on the web, just google for: tigerdirect rebate scam):
The Great Rebate Scam
http://www.flimflam.com/tigerdirect.htm
Report: OnRebate.com – TigerDirect
Rebate Scam
How I Deceive the Heck Out of You with Consumer Rebates
http://www.thetigersucks.com/
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/computers/tiger_rebates.html

Here I learned that TigerDirect and its rebate partner, OnRebate, are actually owned by the same company: Systemax (Robert Leeds and his family).
http://jerryfeil.com/tigerdirect.htm

It also seems that you may not find my little rant using Google because tigerdirect is paying a service called complaintremover.com to be sure that if you search for complaints about tigerdirect you will find one of their sites first. They brag:

We have the ability to make your name or business appear on thousands of different websites using proven techniques we spent years learning as Search Engine Optimization experts.

We have a network of thousands of high rank websites! This allows us the ability to dominate keywords and phrases such as your name or business!

We submit positive information about you or your business, pushing aside negative Internet posts.

Take a look at part of the complaintremover familiy: repsaver.

Now you know what I know.

As this article goes to press, my wife noted that today’s Vancouver Sun has an article on rebates. It has an interesting take on the issue that with rebates you may be paying taxes on the full price. Sun: What We’re Really Paying on Rebates

As a last word, both of us in this house really like using two screens at our computers. I have a big refurbished Mitsubishi Diamond Plus tube monitor beside my laptop. It takes up a lot of space and also cost about $100 a few years ago. I bought it from Chris Smythe, who runs Appletekk in North Vancouver. Over the years, Chris has solved lots of my computer problems, and stands behind what he sells. When buying, it is a good idea to do business with the people who have earned your trust.

42 Responses to “I was a sucker for a tigerdirect rebate scam”


  1. 1 TigerDirect Customer Satisfaction August 13, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Please accept my apologies on behalf of TigerDirect for the trouble you experienced with your rebate. I assure you that we do not set out to deceive our customers through rebates. On the contrary, many times it is through rebates that we are able to offer our customers the best deals with certain manufacturers. It is no secret we have had some issues in the past with rebate processing but we are working diligently with OnRebate and the other rebate processing centers to correct these issues. Also, as you state above, our manufacturers require certain (sometimes lengthy) information to be collected for the rebate within certain timeframes, which allows room for user error, causing the rebate to be rejected. In all cases, and with all the rebate processing centers that we use at TigerDirect, the customer is given the opportunity to resubmit the rejected rebate application with the correct information (despite expired timeframes). I am sorry you were not aware of this option.
    I urge you, and any of your readers to contact me directly if you have had any issues with rebates and I will intercede with the rebate company on your behalf and ensure your rebates get paid out.
    We are committed to our customers and to improving our service on a daily basis. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to do that.

    Adela Gomez
    Customer Satisfaction
    TigerDirect.com
    adela.gomez@tigerdirect.com

    • 2 peggy March 4, 2014 at 7:34 am

      really TigerDirect I just bought a power supply and the price in store was $44.99 with $15.00 rebate paid $59.99 and go to rebate site and rebate is only $10.00 false advertising! Won’t be suckered by you again.!

  2. 3 bill gollan August 13, 2007 at 6:56 am

    I just read your posting, and greatly appreciate your comments – and I have a few comments of my own, if you don’t mind.

    We process rebates for a variety of clients – and regardless of their differences (manufacturing, retail, mail order, etc) – we remain neutral and in the middle of all rebate transactions – let me explain.

    OnRebate is like an umpire in MLB – we make no rules, but simply enforce those that our clients ask us to enforce – so as an example if a client requires that the applicants mail in the original invoice (just as an example) – then when we receive those proof-of-purchase documents, we decision that claim based upon having received an original or copy, just as an example. In your case, where Tiger required us to allow you 30 days to submit your proof of purchase – and our team received the documentation outside of the alloted timeframe – they properly denied the claim (again, based upon the rules we are instructed to enforce by our clients.

    Now having said all that, Tiger has a very liberal rebate application policy and allows for each submission that has been denied the opportunity to “resubmit” – so even if an applicant may have been denied – we notify them via email, and encourage them to “resubmit” the correct documents, thereby giving most everybody a 2nd opportunity to apply and receive their rebate – a policy that we believe is very customer-centric and friendly.

    If you would like to “resubmit” this claim, simply email me directly to bill.gollan@onrebate.com, and we reprocess your application and get you paid.

    Lastly, thanks for reaching out into the www – for had you not vented I never would have had the opportunity to answer your questions & concerns, and hopefully renewed your faith – in at least one rebate processor – OnRebate.com

  3. 4 Robert August 13, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Earlier today I wrote to Bill Gollan as he recommended in his comment (above). When there are further developments, I will report them here.

  4. 5 bill gollan August 14, 2007 at 4:03 am

    Denise Bennett, from my Customer Advocacy group, has reached out to you via email with instructions on how to re-submit your claim, and once that easy step has been completed, your payment will follow close behind.

    Again, glad you were able to contact me via your blog, and if there is anything further me or my team can do – please do not hesitate to call of write to me.

    Best regards,

    Bill Gollan
    President/CEO OnRebate

  5. 6 Robert August 14, 2007 at 6:21 am

    D. Bennett’s email requested that I fax my paperwork to her. Fortunately I’d made printouts of the rebate process, and I still have the packing slip from TigerDirect (of course missing the section that I’d mailed in to OnRebate). That 14-page package has been faxed. D. Bennett’s email to me was copied to several other people including Bill Gollan and Robert Leeds.

  6. 7 Robert August 15, 2007 at 7:44 am

    This morning I have emails from both Bill Gollan and then Denise Bennett. D. Bennett confirms that OnRebate has received my fax and gave me the URL to review the rebate status. It includes the same form as is in the article (above) except there is a check beside “The Rebate was denied – Outside of time frame, and two new lines have appeared: a check and the words, “The Rebate was accepted 8/15/2007 8:06:36 AM;” and below that is an X and the words, “Payment Sent.” There is no date or time beside that. I presume that I can watch and see when the cheque is sent.

    I will report here when the cheque arrives.

  7. 8 Robert August 18, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    As of the weekend, the OnRebate site shows that the cheque has not been sent. I’ll report when that status changes.

  8. 9 Alex August 23, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Dear Customer:

    We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and if the issue has not yet been resolved, I would be glad to assist you. To begin, please email me at alex@help.tigerdirect.com with your Tiger Direct order number in the subject line, as well as a brief summary of your rebate situation in the body of your email. If you have your rebate tracking number(s), you can include that also. Your issue will be researched, and we look forward to resolving it for you as promptly as possible.

    Sincerely,

    Alex
    Tiger Direct Customer Service/Web Response

  9. 10 Robert August 23, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    The URL given to me by Denise Bennett to view my “Rebate Status” continues to show that “The Rebate was accepted” but there is still an X beside “Payment Sent” and no date there. So I assume that the payment has yet to be sent. I will report when there is some news.

  10. 11 bev September 27, 2007 at 4:31 am

    Robert – I’ve just read through this post and the comments. Are you still waiting for the cheque? If so.. Sheesh!!

  11. 12 Robert September 27, 2007 at 7:41 am

    I am looking at the “Your Rebate Status” page for this file at OnRebate. There is a check mark beside “The Rebate was accepted”. That was dated: 8/15/2007 8:06:35 AM.

    There is still an “X” beside “Payment Sent.” In case I was looking at a cached image in my browser, I just forced it to refresh. The news did not change. And no cheque has arrived.

  12. 13 bev September 29, 2007 at 2:24 am

    You would think that after posting messages on here, they would get their act together and finish taking care of this problem. Well, good luck. I hope that you eventually get some satisfaction.

  13. 14 Robert October 9, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    It was August 15 when the OnRebate web page showed that my rebate status announced: “The Rebate was accepted.”

    Right now, the line: “Payment Sent” remains blank.

    A few moments ago I called Denise Bennett, from Bill Golan’s Customer Advocacy group (see his post above). She didn’t remember me, but when she checked my tracking number she confirmed that the payment had not been sent. Ms. Bennett told me that she’d send it for “manual processing,” and the cheque should go out in “3 to 5 days.”

    I will report here when the cheque arrives.

  14. 15 leo October 23, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Hi Robert,
    Has your cheque arrived?
    I have experienced the same frustation level as you and i am within the time frame. My problem is that i do not have the UPC code as the LCD monitor was shipped to a subsidary office and they did not have the packaging material as it was thrown out when the LCD was installed.i agree with you that for any purchases you shouls go to the big boys (Dell,HP) or of the “hobby” stufff, you should go to a “mom and pop” operatiuon as you get better customer service and you leave feeling that you have not been ripped off.

    Awaiting the next saga from another

  15. 16 Robert October 23, 2007 at 8:22 am

    @Leo, I am looking at the OnRebate page that shows my rebate status. There is still an “X” and no date beside “Payment Sent.” That would indicate that no cheque has been sent. I have not received a cheque.

    This blog report (above) includes the names of the people to contact about your situation. Start with Adela Gomez at TigerDirect. Just because some packing was tossed out is no reason to deny you your rebate. I recommend that, at this point, you avoid anger, and be persistent.

    This blog page is constantly receiving lots of hits, so I am assuming that it is useful for a number of people having problems.

  16. 17 Robert October 26, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    I promised that I’d report here when the cheque from OnRebate arrived. It arrived yesterday. You may see a picture of the cheque here.

    Many thanks to everyone who took an interest in this issue. This blog, and your personal participation made a difference.

  17. 18 TigerDirect Customer Satisfaction November 8, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Dear Robert,
    I am glad you received your check and again apologize for the delay. I had bookmarked this page and was checking in to ensure your rebate had been paid.
    I am not sure if Leo or anyone else is still reading this article, but I would again encourage anyone with any outstanding rebate or CS problems with TigerDirect to contact me directly. I will do everything I can to get it resolved swiftly.

    Adela Gomez
    Customer Satisfaction
    TigerDirect.com
    adela.gomez@tigerdirect.com

  18. 19 Aser July 4, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Congratulations

    You are a winner, I don’t have the same lucky, never get my rebate, I’m just another victim without $40.

  19. 20 Robert July 4, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Hi Aser, thanks for writing. As part of this long article + comments there are a number of people in Tigerdirect and at OnRebate who have provided their contact information. Have you tried to contact each of them? As you can read, it was necessary to be persistent for many months.

  20. 21 Aser July 7, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Hi
    Yes I send emails, Adela email me back, but I belive they only show on the blog to make the people belive they try help.

  21. 22 Robert July 8, 2008 at 6:18 am

    @Aser, you are on a blog here, so maybe this will help. You are anonymous because your name does not link to another blog or website. Consider finding a web-savvy friend to help you, and either obtain a free web site, or a free blog. Use that as a place to tell your story. Use your real name. Note that the person who will probably solve your problem is Denise Bennett, from the OnRebate Customer Advocacy group. Be sure to contact her. She can tell you if they are going to pay you.

  22. 23 Aser July 9, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Thank uyou Robert for the advice, maybe I will try.
    This I know, I don’t get my rebate, but I will never never buy nothing from this company.

  23. 24 Steve from S. California July 13, 2008 at 6:16 am

    My hat’s off to you and all the good readers who has been following the saga of your rebates. As for me, I’m won’t buy products if the rebates instructions are complicated or if the product/rebate isn’t from a brick & mortar store with real people I can asked questions. An excellent expose’ how you can get snagged.

  24. 25 Robert July 13, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    @Steve from S. Calif. That’s probably good advice. Frankly, the word REBATE is no longer a promise of a good deal — for me it is just a warning to shop elsewhere.

  25. 26 Kevin August 10, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I am new to tigerdirect, this might be out of the plot but I am wondering if tigerdirect do sell to international consumers e.g. Australia via online ordering and if so, does the rebate still apply to international consumers and is the process of rebate still very long and extensive? I been searching on the net and most if not all the website still argu that tigerdirect’s rebate system is a “Scam” with date of post early this year (2008), some getting their rebate with in one month but some taking as long as 3 -4 month like what Robert have experienced.

    Help and advice is much appreciated.
    Thank you,
    From Kevin.

  26. 27 Robert August 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    @Kevin, I am not sure why you want to become a player in this game. However, it seems the folks at TigerDirect would be delighted to receive orders from Oz, or from any international business. The instructions are here: http://biz.tigerdirect.com/sectors/Help/international.asp
    You will have to pay via a wire transfer, they are not interested in your credit card or your cheque. Do you think I will receive a finder’s fee for my help in making this sale?

  27. 28 Kevin August 11, 2008 at 12:28 am

    Thank you for your quick reply Robert.
    I did a few trials on tigerdirect and do not worry I will not become a player in this “Intense” game nor will I be a customer of tigerdirect. At first just like many other E-market buyers are highly influenced by the first appeal of tigerdirect, THE PRICE. It drawn my mouse to click the BUY bottom but then I look at the international shipment fee WOW $600 approx USD for a 40lb weight, this is due to the shipment option “Second Day” I am opinion “NO OPTION NO BUY”

    I will be travelling to Taiwan soon, 85% all of E-Market manufactures are in Taiwan cheapest place to buy.

    Once again I would like to say thank you to Robert for the help, and I wish you a better E-shopping next time around.

  28. 29 Liz Gray April 15, 2009 at 7:34 am

    The photo of your lake is beautiful!

    Thanks for going to all the effort of writing about your problems with Tiger Direct. I will NOT buy my really big HDTV from them!

    A rebate just lets a company use your money interest free for some time. I’ve been told that a rebate is an admission that the price is too high.

    Reading your post saved me a major hassle. I hope you and others who had problems can get some satisfaction, in that $40 rebates not handeled promptly cost them a BIG sale.

    More Thanks, Liz Gray

  29. 30 Robert April 15, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Thanks for commenting Liz. I continue to be amazed at the number of hits this thread receives. I’m glad it was useful to you.

  30. 31 Canadian2 April 24, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I live in the Province of Ontario in Canada. Apparently, out Provincial government has enacted legislations mandating that retailers charge a ‘green recycling’ fee on all electronic goods. I was unaware of this. Nevertheless, I purchased a computer monitor from TigerDirect.ca and was very happy when I received it less than a week later. However, about 3 days after receiving it, I got a ship notification from Tigerdirect.ca stating my purchase was shipped and it showed ‘TELEVISIONS ALL SIZES (CA ONT 001 CA) and a charge of $11.38. I reviewed the original invoice and it wasn’t on there. I also went through page after page on Tigerdirects site and found no notice of this. I did not authorize this payment on my visa and fortunately for Canadians, there is a method that can be used if visa purchases are in dispute called a ‘CHARGEBACK’. This is when Visa sends a request to Tiger asking for a signed slip. Since I didn’t authorize or even know about this charge, I intend to do this chargeback. I have been a loyal customer for 7 years and purchase items for my enterprise network almost daily from them. This bs has caused me to rethink my loyalties.

  31. 32 Jorge December 6, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Hi, I too am a victim of tiger directs scam. I say it is a scam because if it wasn’t a scam there wouldn’t be a class action suit going on against them. I bought my product did the lengthy process of sending in my rebate and I did it in the first week of buying the product. Never got a dime back. I recently met the son of the owner of Tiger Direct. His son attends the University of Miami him and I are not friends but I was over hearing a conversation about there family selling some boats that they recently bought. I later put one and one together and realized they bought those boats originally with my money. Then you wonder why us Americans have economic problems. The rich want to get richer even if it means stealing from the lower classes. That rebate is my money.

  32. 33 Yojenkz January 25, 2012 at 4:52 am

    I currently work for a TigerDirect store, and I agree the process sucks, however, I’ve cashed out more people with rebate cards from that company than I have heard complaints. Not trying to say you’re in the wrong, just that it does happen. Ill do my part and try to let customers know just how bad it is.

  33. 34 francis December 8, 2012 at 6:55 am

    I only buy rebated products that rebate instantly. That is the only way these “moral” companies will correct their practices. Boycott !

  34. 35 Van Nguyen March 26, 2013 at 3:06 am

    I’ve got a similar problem:
    1) Giving wrong instruction to fill out a rebate.
    2) Denied the rebate without notice the claimant.
    3) Talk center point to rebate center.
    4) Rebate center refuse user name and password.
    5) Back to #3 (endless futile attempts)
    6) Kiss my 30 bucks rebate goodby?

  35. 36 CSR May 17, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Beware off these companies. TigerDirect, CompUSA, Circuit City, Global Industrial, Nexel, Misco, Infotel, Global Computer Supplies, Inmac WStore, SpeedGifter and Worldwide Rebates All these names operate under a company called Systemax, Inc.
    CompUSA and Circuit City were consolidated with TigerDirect in 2009 and 2012.
    We cannot see that there can be any deference in operations in any of the above affiliates as they are all owned and operated by the same company Systemax, Inc.
    This post is about our nightmare with TigerDirect, I will explain in this post the details of our ordeal with them and the outcome.
    First off our company is a computer system build service, we provide companies with high end hardware to perform high end task like everyday workstation programs to high end graphics design, medical lab screeners and other software. We do not build gaming, or retail systems.
    We recently purchased 2 items from TigerDirect totaling $5,218.76 this was our first experience with TigerDirect as we usually deal directly with manufactures, we placed the order on Friday morning April 26th at 9:00am to be exact and paid for “2 day rush shipping” remember this part for later.
    Their billing department called our office at 10:52am that same day and we contacted our bank via (three way call) to verify the payment and confirm we had authorized the purchase, we confirmed the order with our bank and the service rep. we were then told by the service rep all was good and the order would now be processed and shipped.
    We thought to ourselves well it will not ship till the following Monday or Tuesday the next week, we were ok with that being we placed the order on a Friday.
    Well that next Tuesday April 30th we went to their website (TigerDirect) to check on the status of the order, this is where the nightmare all starts.
    When we checked on the status of the order, it said that the order was placed and that it would be shipping from a third party drop shipper and we were to allow 7 to 10 days for processing and shipping and the status was marked as not shipped. (Remember the 2 day rush shipping we paid for).
    We proceeded to call their customer care number to inquire about the 7 to 10 days, I talked to an Aron and he repeated the same thing we had just read online and that the shipping would be from the time the drop shipper processed the order and/or shipped it.
    We explained that this order was for a client build and that we were on a tight time frame and that we were under the impression that the order would be shipped and we would receive it in a few days. He continued to say that the drop shipper is an independent and that our order would be shipped as soon as they processed it.
    At this point we are a bit frustrated as you may imagine and we asked him to just cancel the order being it was not shipped at this point, he ask us to hold and then came back on and told us that we could not cancel the order at this point.
    We asked him why we could not cancel the order and he told us that the order had been placed and that there is nothing they can do about it at this point, he did say that if we did not want the order to just refuse the order when it arrived and that we would get a full refund when the items were returned to the drop shipper.
    Now as you can imagine we were a bit upset, we needed the two items for a client of ours so we went to Newegg and placed an order for the exact same two items and paid for next day air a bit pricey but we needed the items. These shipped on that same day April 30th, by Wednesday May 1st the items were at our door and all was good with our client.
    On Friday May 3nd the items we ordered on TigerDirect had arrived although the status on their website still said they had not be shipped yet, here is the thing these are two items with a value of $5,218.76 and there was no signature required. If we had not been at the office the driver would have left the packages at the door and we would have had to get an RMA and had to go through the whole return process.
    Well after refusing the items on May 3nd they were returned to the drop shipper and were received back in their warehouse on Monday May 6th and we thought we would see the refund of our money show up in our account, we contact their customer support again and was told by an Erin that we would see the refund in about 3 days.
    Well not counting the weekend 3 days went by and still no refund so we contacted their customer support yet again on May 9th and was now told by a Martin that it would take 5 days and that the refund should be by May 13th, ok well Monday May 13th had arrived and still no refund so yet again we contacted there customer support.
    This time we talked to a Daniel and was told by him that it would take another 3 days for the refund to show in our account May 17th, at this point we all got together and decided that it would be in our best interest to consult our attorney for collection.
    Well I personally wanted to try one more time so I called their customer support and asked to speak to a manager about the refund, the managers name was Alex and I explained the whole thing to him and he said he had talked to Daniel and that the items were showing in there system as being returned to stock and that they did not know why the drop shipper has not processed the items for a refund.
    He indicated that they were going to go ahead and process the refund and deal with the drop shipper later (like they were doing us a favor), and that the refund will show on our account in about three days. (Broken Record).
    Here it is the 17th of May and still no refund, after some investigation and digging we were able to contact their so called corporate office and was insured by someone named David that we would get a full refund. We were also told that this refund would take yet another 3 to 5 more days (LOL) when we asked why it would take another 3 to 5 days we got no reply and were hung up on.
    We are not sure what the drop shipper has to do with them processing a refund on a product purchased on their website but it seems that they really have no idea what they are doing.
    As system builders and dealing with thousands of dollars of equipment every day our clients are our life line, it is absolutely imperative to make our customers feel appreciated and show them total respect and honesty.
    Needless to say we will definitely not be ordering anything from this company in the future it Is worth the extra few bucks to insure that the items are shipped as promised, and that as a customer we are treated with respect and honesty.
    TigerDirect has disrespected and lied us in more than one conversation, we have 12 Employees in our company and we had a conference with them and told them that if anyone in our company orders anything from any of the affiliates of Systemax, Inc. listed above for our company or a project working on or under our company they would be fired on the spot.
    This problem has been turned over to our company attorneys and we will be seeking restitutions along with a refund of money not yet see.
    Our advice is do not do business with any of the affiliates listed above owned or operated by Systemax Inc. or be treated the same way we have been treated.

    Best Regards
    CB
    General Manager/CEO

    P.S.
    Our company records and saves all calls, chat’s and email conversation for quality assurance and in this scenario we have all recorded calls, chat’s and email correspondences with TigerDirect.

  36. 37 Daniel Pelchat October 9, 2014 at 5:36 am

    I’ve been told by a tigerdirect agent to return an itme and that I would get a refund. A few days later I received an email saying they received it and that I should get a refund in 5 days.

    Two months later I asked for my refund. They asked me to prove I didn’t get the refund. What the */# is that? Anyway I sent them my Paypal statement for the last 2 months.

    Now, even if I received two confirmations they received it, they are asking me the tracking number and if I don’t have it, they won’t refund me.

    Same kind of stories I read from other people. They are always blaming another department blah, blah, blah. They understand, however blah, blah, blah and they appologize for the inconvenience.

    For me it’s a simple equation: You confirm you received it -> You promise a refund -> You refund me. I really don’t understand what is wrong with their monkey brains.

    I also have the problem with our environment taxes. They charged it to me and I understand but they can’t give me an invoice for it. Bunch of idiots.

  37. 38 Robert October 9, 2014 at 8:20 am

    Daniel, I am amazed that this comment thread is still active with similar stories being posted, now, over 7 years since my original article appeared.

    • 39 Daniel Pelchat October 9, 2014 at 8:34 am

      I guess they designed their business that way on purpose so why would they change?

      Before posting here I gave them several chances but I only got their stupid answers.

      I posted a complaint on the Better Business Bureau website and put a Google alert for tigerdirect. Each time I will see someone asking a question about tigerdirect, they will hear my story.

      Thaey have been warned. Too late now.

  38. 40 Howard Courtney November 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    I am beginning to believe that the Tiger Direct MAIL IN REBATE is just a FRAUD in order to attract sales.
    Specifically “Rebate status for Claim# 4060701310141015”. The need to “MAIL IN” by Canada Post as opposed to electronically… especially when I have already done all that… only to be refused and told that the actual receipts were not sufficient or missing… This is a $70.00 rebate that many people would simply NOT take the time to process because of the continued hassles… BUT I am an unhappy customer and $70.00 means a lot to me. I can provide all the documentation again by electronic means, but feel it is totally inappropriate to spend addition time, effort and especially costs to re-mail by Canada Post when I have already done that and been rejected.
    Please investigate and I will be glad to provide any addition documentation.

    RESOLVED!

    Thank you, Alex Gomez, alexander.gomez@syx.com at Systemax , for resolving my rebate issue.

    I received my $70.00 rebate in the mail today.

  39. 41 Jeff November 27, 2015 at 11:27 pm

    The point of the rebate process is not to con people…it does that incidentally and accidentally…the real point, which is legitimate, is to verify between product’s manufacturer and its distributor that a transaction has taken place involving the correct item. Without this, there is no way for the the manufacturer to know. The shoe used to be on the other foot, I can remember hearing a number of stories of rebate fraud in the 90s. Now, they have clamped down. Some people like fraud; please blame them.


  1. 1 OnRebate TigerDirect issue resolved « Salish Sea Trackback on October 26, 2007 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,954 hits

