Backcountry weather forecast

When heading into the backcountry, part of the adventure is coping with whatever conditions arise. Here in the Coast Mountains the hills often make their own weather, and they certainly interact with the air masses that pass through.

For me, planning a hiking or skiing trip high into the Salish Sea watersheds means trying to anticipate the weather. Most city-folk are happy with a forecast for one or another of the local urban areas. Knowing the weather report for Vancouver or Seattle might provide a clue about the general local conditions, but backcountry travelers need to do their own forecasting. I enjoying being my own meteorologist. The problem is that most of the easily available information is about what is current in the city. Since our weather flows in from the Pacific Ocean, I require surface maps and satellite images that show what is happening out there. Over the years I’ve collected my favorite sources of links on to a single web page. I made the page for my own use, but you are welcome to explore it. Click the thumb to take you there. If you find better sources than the ones that I have, please let me know.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Backcountry weather forecast”


  1. 1 bev September 27, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Nice page of very useful links. I just checked out the one for local tide charts and it’s excellent. That one will come in very handy when I’m in Oregon and California in October!

  2. 2 Robert September 27, 2007 at 7:58 am

    Bev, I will look forward to your blog posts from Oregon!

    BTW, there is a program that displays that tide information for folks who use a Macintosh. It is called, “Mr. Tides.”
    http://web.mac.com/augusth/Tides3/Home.html

  3. 3 bev September 29, 2007 at 2:17 am

    Thanks, Robert. I hope to do a number of posts from Oregon if I’m able to get a net connection. That seems to be getting easier all the time! Will check out “Mr. Tides”.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 154,964 hits

