Bowen Island Autumn

My daughters grew up in this west coast rain forest. Both have declared that they prefer a misty day in the woods to clear skies and sun.

My growing experiences were near Montreal, and this place still feels alien. I recall the autumns days of my youth filled with razor sharp cold clear days, leaves turning followed by bare deciduous branches in the sky, and the first dusting of snow.

Here it is wet and soft. The damp air from the Pacific is clean and fresh. It quickly picks up the fragrant forest essence of decay. [If you cannot see the rest of this article, please click on the title. And wait for the pictures to load… ]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,



It is environmentally correct to be a pedestrian passenger on Bowen’s ferry. There is no dry way to walk on or off in the rain. These folks were arriving on Thanksgiving Day as we were leaving.
foot passengers departing Queen of Cap on Thanksgiving

Actually we do have some fall colour. When I first saw these yellow and red branches on the ‘evergreen’ red cedar trees, I thought they were diseased.Fall colour - red cedar

The maple trees here have leaves that are so big that I remember laughing when I saw my first one. They are turning brown and will soon fall. It only takes a few of these leaves to blanket the ground.
broad leaf maple - turning

It’s been windy. That cedar-y stuff coats the roads and here, the roof of the car.
Car roof - mainly red cedar

After some rain, there are fungi everywhere. I suppose some of it is food, if you know what is safe.
mushrooms

All of this is to say that weather forecasts, like the one today, can be considered good news.
weather forecast

1 Response to “Bowen Island Autumn”


  1. 1 Frank Gardner July 28, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Hi, I have been looking at these beautiful pictures of Mt Gardner. I want the person who posted those pictures to know that the mountain was named by George Vancouver in honour of his mentor Admiral Alan Gardner, 1st Baron of Uttoxeter. I am writing a book on the history of the Gardner’s of Coleraine, Ireland. Admiral Gardner was my ancestor and in the course of my research, I discovered that Vancouver also named another Mount Gardner in South West Australia, Gardner Channel in Canada and Port Gardner Bay in Puget Sound after Admiral Gardner, who had furthered his career.

    I am writing to ask the person who took these pictures if he would be willing to share one with me. A good Hi-res image which I can include in the book and also give a credit line to the one who took it.

    Please contact me, my emial ID is effgeein@yaoo.com.

    Would love to hear from you.

    Best Regards

    Frank Gardner


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,144 hits

