Rain in the rain forest

It seems to be a mistake to show too many sunny days on this blog. This is a rain forest. There has been constant rain all day.

When I moved out here the shoes that I wore to meetings had leather soles. They were always stuffed with newspapers to dry out. I learned that in town I should have shoes with rubber soles. I bought the largest and most sturdy umbrella I could find.

Today, it is very windy too. That makes me concerned about the possibility of a power failure.

Here on Bowen Island these are my outdoor slip-on shoes, and I’m likely to wear a backcountry rain jacket and not use the umbrella.

I’ve always felt silly wearing any kind of a hat. Mountain travel taught me to wear a hat with a peak to shade my eyes from the sun. On a rainy day that peak keeps the rain off my glasses.

These are small adaptations.

Technorati Tags: ,

1 Response to “Rain in the rain forest”


  1. 1 Dona October 19, 2007 at 8:43 am

    and I’ve learned to enjoy rain and storms by wearing truly waterproof warm clothing and gumboots with insoles for warmth and comfort – I’ve even got a sou’wester (that name tells you what the prevailing winds are back east).

    Have a fun day!


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,489 hits

