Mt. Strachan Snow May 24

For skiers, this is an amazing spring. There is still lots of snow. Yesterday we headed for the hill. It isn’t far. I could see our destination from the ferry as we left Bowen Island. It is the dome on the left…

Mt. Strachan Snow looking sparce
That’s Mt. Strachan, part of Cypress Bowl, on the left. The weather was mainly cloudy and from sea level it looks is if there is barely any snow up there. It feels like summer down here. The next picture was taken 3 hours later from the top of that line of snow…
Bowen Island from Mt. Strachan
Up here the snow is still deep and plentiful. There’s my home, Bowen Island. [More pictures, including a rare one of me, in the next pane. Click the title if you cannot see them.]

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Robert Ballantyne on Mt. Strachan
The peak by my right ear is Sky Pilot. To the left, and in the distance is Mt. Garibaldi. The stony pillar is the East Lion. I think this is the best skiing of the year. I can ski in shorts, the days are long and often sunny, and spring corn snow is the best. I’d take this over short frigid dark winter days — which is a high price to pay for a little powder. There were just a few hikers, snowshoers and skiers up there. We saw no one as we skied down through old-growth glades. Real wilderness, and we are still in the town of West Vancouver.

For the record: this year, on May 24th, there is snow all the way down to the parking lot (and Olympic Construction site).
Mt. Strachan slopes - Cypress Bowl Parking
We are near the bottom of the run, just above the level of the Howe Sound Crest Trail. Now it is a clear day without a cloud above. Compare the snow conditions with the same hill on June 3, 2006.

5 Responses to “Mt. Strachan Snow May 24”


  1. 1 Dona May 26, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    hey, I think I like your new do! I’ll have to wait until I see you in person to be sure! 🙂

  2. 2 Robert May 27, 2008 at 8:26 am

    @Dona, I don’t have to face into the wind to keep my hair from being messed. I think there is less wind resistance when I am skiing. Thanks.

  3. 3 ellebe June 4, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Whoa…Dona’s right, your pate looks good…could be the spring-skiing tan though! I’ve got the same sun in Scotland, so the northern hemisphere is looking as good as your head! and pardon my ignorance, but what the devil are tweets and twitters?!

  4. 4 Robert June 4, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    @ellebe, “Pate” is a word that was used frequently by Shakespeare, but is seldom heard these days.

    Tweets refer to http://twitter.com/. There is a video there that explains. I watch the tweets of anyone interesting, but pay most attention to the folks around Vancouver who know how the web works. You really won’t get it until you actually participate. It is free, easy, and because no post can be more than 140 characters, it does not require much time to compose. I found that my blog could capture my last 10 tweets, and that sort-of fills in the blanks between blog posts. Try this to see who is twittering within 20 miles of Troon, Scotland.
    http://www.twitterlocal.net/show/Troon%2C+Scotland%2C+UK/20
    Anyone you know? For someone who travels as much as you, twittering would be an easy way to leave a breadcrumb path for friends to follow. Lot of folks do it with their cell phones.

  5. 5 Robert June 4, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    @ellebe, Not a lot of twittering in Trooh, eh? Try Vancouver:
    http://www.twitterlocal.net/show/vancouver%2C+BC%2C+Canada/20


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 157,147 hits

