Bear in Cypress Bowl

It was a treat to see a bear in Cypress Bowl as I headed up to ski Mt. Strachan.
Cypress Bowl Bear
The sun that was promised never appeared. The snow is melting quickly down by the road. At mid-mountain I was on fairly new fresh wet snow. Up there, I was alone, and the fog (cloud) was often so dense that I could see no landmarks. Today, on the upper mountain I never strayed far from the lift towers.
Lift tower near top of Mt. Strachan
I played hooky today because I will be traveling for the next few days.

Technorati Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Bear in Cypress Bowl”


  1. 1 Raul June 11, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Bears. Beautiful yet scary!

  2. 2 Robert June 11, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    And that beautiful animal is within the city limits of West Vancouver. This is an amazing place to live. While skiing today, I saw 2 other skiers leaving the slope as I was stepping into my bindings to skin up. For the rest of the time that I was on the hill, I was completely alone up there.

  3. 3 Dona June 13, 2008 at 8:25 am

    and we have seen a bear in our yard – cracked the plastic composter and ripped down the bird feeders. He actually managed to balance himself up on a 6 ft fence while determining his escape route. The conservation officer said to take down our feeders, and put lime on the compost – we’ve done both and haven’t seen him since. I guess he’s gone back into the park behind us.

  4. 4 Robert June 16, 2008 at 8:28 am

    The last bear that was able to swim over to Bowen Island was captured and killed.
    😦

    I am actually pleased hear that the conservation officer talked to you about how you should manage living in bear country instead of dealing with a ‘bear problem.’ Sorry about the feeders; I’ve really enjoyed the bird activity around your feeders.

    Plastic composter, eh? In Winnipeg I used to maintain 3 large compost piles. I have a great system for a lazy-person’s compost pile. It isn’t as neat as the commercial products, and it takes a bit more room. The work associated is minimal. I make a circle with 18′ of 4-foot welded stucco wire (not expensive) and throw stuff into it. Keep the top concave so water runs into the pile, not off. The only work is: once each year I dump the stuff from this year’s pile into a new pile. Then one or two piles goes into the garden. When the compost is ready there is a pill of compost surrounded by fairly dry material. The outside of the old pile goes into the new pile, and what’s left in the pile (the pill) is lovely compost. Since I am not careful about chopping the ingredients that go into the pile, some prep may need to be done before digging the compost into the garden. I would cut the pill up using a pickax (a sort of mattock). Here, on Bowen, I have a compost pile, but it seems to serve mainly as a food bin for the deer and the crows. We have no raccoons here.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,489 hits

