Where did the spam go?

Overnight Spam

Overnight Spam

I’ve owned and used the domain that is the same as my name since the polite days of the web – before there was any spam. My email address is on lots of lists. So, everyday I receive a lot of spam. Buried in all that trash are the few gems that cause me to diligently go through the hundreds and thousands of pieces of mail: the real emails from friends and colleagues. Most days in my office begin with that chore.

For no good reason I’ve been jotting down the number of emails that arrive overnight. Over the months and years the trend has been a discouraging increase. Suddenly, in the middle of this month (November), I’ve noted a sharp reduction in spam. Why?

2 Responses to “Where did the spam go?”


  1. 1 Mark November 27, 2008 at 6:46 am

    McColo, the web host in the US, was shut down by its ISPs (Internet service providers) after the Washington Post unveiled it as the world’s largest spam server after a four-month investigation.

  2. 2 Robert November 27, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Thanks Mark. It has certainly saved me lots of time every day.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 154,081 hits

