No Bowen Island Sidewalks

The sun shone today and lots of snow melted. I went for a long walk across Bowen Island. It was pleasant to be outside. I had to march along the road because there were no sidewalks. The road is actually narrower than normal due to the snow banks.

As a pedestrian, I was appalled at the number of Island drivers who do not know the rules when approaching someone walking on the road. I was on the left side facing the oncoming traffic. Some drivers, when they could not move over into the opposite lane because of oncoming traffic, decided to crowd me into the snowbank (instead of stopping).

My anger completely dissolved when I was walking up the Seven Hills. Peter King, who operates the buses on Bowen, was at the helm of one of his chariots on my right. He stopped the bus and offered me a lift to the top of hill. Peter is one of the wonderful and very special people on Bowen.

0 Responses to “No Bowen Island Sidewalks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,954 hits

