Bionx electric power assist bicycle

Have you ever felt that you’d like to use a bicycle for transportation because it would be good exercise and is environmentally friendly — but the hills are just too much work for your level of fitness? Dona, my friend on the Sunshine coast has a bike modified with a Bionx electric power assist. I knew she used it regularly to ride the road in and out of of Gibsons for groceries and more. While that route has lots of little hills, I wondered how it would do on a bigger slope. She showed me.

In case you think that because you are a boomer you left this kind activity in your youth, you can take heart knowing that Dona will receive her Gold Card later this year.

For more information on BionX, follow this link. This is the 350 watt kit that was installed on a Giant bicycle purchased for this purpose. The installation was done by Paul Rudolph at Spin Cycles in Gibsons, BC.

7 Responses to “Bionx electric power assist bicycle”


  1. 1 Rosemary June 8, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I want one! It would be great in the Precipice–I wonder how long it would take to get out to Anahim? How would that motor be on a rough-country bike (i.e. up to our lake)?

    • 2 Robert June 9, 2009 at 8:30 am

      Hi Rosemary. For everything about the BionX, check the BionX website. The motor is actually very simple, and I cannot see how the rough road would bother it if it were used on a comfy and sturdy mountain bike. I’ve send an email to Dona to mention this comment. Also, if readers are interested in life around Precipice and Anahim Lake, here is a link to Dave’s blog: Chilcotin Ark.

      • 3 Dona June 9, 2009 at 8:36 am

        I am not sure how the bike would stand up to really rough roads – perhaps Paul at Spin Cycle would have a better idea than me. I have seen one bike quite damaged by a heavy guy (250 lbs) who rode it rough – jumping curbs.

  2. 4 Dona June 9, 2009 at 8:38 am

    HELMETS! I always wear my helmet, and failed to do so for this little demo, because it was just ‘going to take a minute’. And now it’s immortalized on Robert’s blog. duh!

  3. 5 KEN SANDERS August 5, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I sell these units as a dealer in saskatchewan canada . I HAVE SENT PRODUCT INTERNATIONAL CONTACT ME IF YOU CARE TO at sanderskd@accesscomm.ca

    • 6 Robert August 6, 2009 at 12:53 am

      Hi Ken. That comment is a bit more commercial that I’d normally permit here. However, you have included your email address, and Access.ca really is in Regina, Saskatchewan. I presume you have experience and expertise with BionX and would be prepared to respond to folks’ technical questions. (BTW, when you post an email address, the spammers will find it, and you will begin to receive their junk too.) If you are interested in doing business with people outside of Saskatchewan, I recommend that you set up your own web site and provide lots of value added information. This page at my blog continues to receive hits, so I know people are interested in BionX.

      If anyone does write to Ken Sanders, please post a comment here about your experience with him.

  4. 7 Michael Epp October 2, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Thanks for this post. I don’t think there is any practicable way of getting people out of their cars and onto two wheels on the sunshine coast and in other aging, hilly communities without increased awareness of electric assists. Here’s hoping that it continues to catch on in Gibsons and elsewhere.


Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,985 hits

