Analysis of Cloudburst Mt. Route

Last weekend, looking  from the Tricouni Meadows road, I was surprised to see that there was still snow at the top of the road access to upper part of Cloudburst Mountain (see pictures in my previous blog post). It was back in 2005 when I went up there, story here: http://www.clubtread.com/sforum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10821

This week I did some analysis of that route using my old GPS track and Google Earth. Using my tracklog as a guide, I created a GPS summit Route to upload to my GPS receiver. Photo of Cloudburst Mt. superimposed on Google Earth showing summit routeI then took that picture from the previous post and loaded into Google Earth so that it was superimposed over Cloudburst Mt. With the summit route showing in red, I adjusted the transparency so that I could see my picture with the red route from Google Earth showing through — so the route seemed to be on the photograph. (Click thumbnail to see full-size.)

Cloudburst Mt. Summit route showing alternate plan for the bushwhackAlthough I could see that there was snow at  the top of the access logging road, I suspect that it is melting quickly now, and the section through the trees is likely very gnarly and hard to navigate on skis. Looking at the Google Earth image, I plotted an alternate route for the bushwhack that seems more open and might have more snow. Even if we have to boot it, the trip through the trees looks shorter.

If you can drive on logging roads, this route is shorter from the vehicle to the summit than via the popular Chance Creek road.
http://www.ballantyne.com/Cloudburst03may18/Cloudburst03May18.html

2 Responses to “Analysis of Cloudburst Mt. Route”


  1. 1 nulled November 14, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Terribly well written article!!!


  1. 1 Where to Find Snow? (Roe Creek) | Salish Sea Trackback on April 10, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,172 hits

