BowenLIFT Rides the Ferry

On Thursday, Oct 20, BowenLIFT and Bowen Island Rotary volunteers rode the Queen of Capilano to present the news about hitchhiking on Bowen Island. The Chillbillies provided music.

BowenLIFT is working to make ride-sharing and hitchhiking once again part of the friendly culture of Bowen Island. In addition to being neighbourly, it also contributes to reducing our carbon footprint.

Lift Stop by RCMP on Miller Road

New Lift Stop by RCMP on Miller Road

Lift Stop at B.I. Trunk Rd. and Senior Rd

Lift Stop at B.I. Trunk Rd. and Senior Rd

This week five Lift Stops have appeared around Snug Cove. These were installed by the Municipality. The plan is to have about 25 of these around the Island.

This concept was developed successfully by the folks on Pender Island.

The sign lists the basic hitchhiking protocols (in rhyme):

  • Drivers don’t have to take the first in line,
  • You’re not obliged to accept a ride that’s fine.
  • You Accept a ride at your own risk,
  • But the ride is free, so consider it a gift
BowenLIFT and Rotary volunteers prepare for BowenLIFT presentation-9393

Aboard the Queen of Capilano the BowenLIFT and Rotary volunteers prepare materials for the next BowenLIFT presentation

On the ferry the BowenLIFT volunteers distributed vehicle mirror-hangers which drivers could exhibit to indicate that they were offering rides — the colour of the hanger signal the destination. Soon there will be badges with lanyards for hitchhikers to wear to show that they’d like rides.

If you enjoyed the taste of the Chillbillies music in the video above, here is the complete 20-minute set of their concert during one of the trips from Horseshoe Bay to Snug Cove.

[audio http://ia700706.us.archive.org/34/items/Chillbillies-OnTheBowenIslandFerryForBowenlift/Sailing_to_Bowen_Island_Chillbillies.mp3]

If you’re humming along with the music, and you’d prefer sing, click to see the next pane with the lyrics… 

Lyrics for the songs sung by the Chillbillies
On the passenger deck of The Queen of Capilano

Brown Eyed Girl
By Van Morrison

Hey, where did we go
Days when the rains came?
Down in the hollow
Playin’ a new game

Laughin’ and a-runnin’, hey hey
Skippin’ and a-jumpin’
In the misty mornin’ fog
With our, our hearts a-thumpin’

And you, my brown eyed girl
You my brown eyed girl

And whatever happened
To Tuesday and so slow
Going down the old mine
With a transistor radio

Standin’ in the sunlight laughin’
Hidin’ behind a rainbow’s wall
Slippin’ and a-slidin’
All along the waterfall

With you, my brown eyed girl
You my brown eyed girl

Do you remember when
We used to sing?
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da
Just like that
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da
La te da

[Banjo solo]

So hard to find my way
Now that I’m all on my own
I saw you just the other day
My, how you have grown

Cast my memory back there Lord
Sometimes I’m overcome thinkin’ ’bout it
Makin’ love in the green grass
Behind the stadium
With you, my brown eyed girl
You my brown eyed girl

Do you remember when
We used to sing?
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da
(Lyin’ in the green grass!)
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da
(Bit by bit by bit by bit by bit by bit)
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da
(Sha la la la la, la la la la, la te da, la te da, la te da, da da da)
Sha la la, la la, la la, la la, l-la te da

Ferry announcement by Fitch Cady

I’ve Just Seen A Face
By: Lennon/McCartney

I’ve just seen a face
I can’t forget the time or place where we just met
she’s just the girl for me
and I want all the world to see we’ve met
Ai di di di di

Had it been another day
I might have looked the other way
and I’d have never been aware
but as it is I’ll dream of her tonight
La la la la la la

Falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again

I have never known the like of this
I’ve been alone and I have missed things
and kept out of sight
for other girls were never quite like this
Da da da da da da

Falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again
Yeah, pa pa pa pa

Falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again

[Violin solo]

I’ve just seen a face
I can’t forget the time or place where we just met
she’s just the girl for me
and I want all the world to see we’ve met
Mm mm mm mm mm mm

Falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again
Falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again
Oh, falling, yes I am falling
And she keeps calling
me back again

Fitch Cady explains BowenLIFT to the gathering on the passenger deck

Providence Ferry
By: Joe Charron

I swing a hammer but you know I’d rather
hang my slicker where the boat men gather
I have heard angels singing “Sweet Alleluja”
high on the riggin’.

Oh yes and I’ll be ready when they
call my number I’m a gonna get a
one way ticket on the “Providence Ferry”
gonna carry me home and I’m a gonna let it
oooo____.

[Accordion solo]

Set on down it’s an ancient rhythm better
listen to the music and the name you’re given
Joe was a carpenter that’s for certain gonna sing that tune till they
bring down the curtain

Oh yes and I’ll be ready when they
call my number I’m a gonna get a
one way ticket on the “Providence Ferry”
gonna carry me home and I’m a gonna let it
oooo____.

[Mandolin solo]

Rock my soul, out on the water
safe in the bosom of the oceans daughter
Rope and canvas, oak and pine gonna carry me over to the
other side…

Oh yes and I’ll be ready when they
call my number I’m a gonna get a
one way ticket on the “Providence Ferry”
gonna carry me home and I’m a gonna let it
oooo____.

carry me home and I’m gonna let it
carry me home and I’m gonna let it
carry me home…. and I’m gonna let it.

The Hank Set

Jambalaya
By: Hank Williams Jr.

Goodbye Joe, me gotta go, me oh my oh
Me gotta go pole the pirogue down the bayou
My Yvonne, the sweetest one, me oh my oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have good fun on the bayou

Jambalaya, a-crawfish pie and-a file gumbo
‘Cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

[Banjo solo]

Thibodeaux, Fontainbleau, the place is buzzin’
Kinfolk come to see Yvonne by the dozen
Dress in style, go hog wild, me oh my oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Jambalaya, a-crawfish pie and-a file gumbo
‘Cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

[Mandolin solo]

Settle down far from town get him a pirogue
And he’ll catch all the fish on the bayou
Swap his mon to buy Yvonne what she need-o
Son of a gun we’ll have big fun on the bayou

Jambalaya, a-crawfish pie and-a fillet gumbo
‘Cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.
[Mandolin]

Jambalaya, a-crawfish pie and-a fillet gumbo
‘Cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-oh
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Hey, Good Lookin’
By: Hank Williams Jr.

Say, Hey, Good Lookin’, whatcha got cookin’
How’s about cookin’ somethin’ up with me …
I said, hey, sweet baby, don’t you think maybe
We could find us a brand new recipe.

I got a hot rod Ford and a two dollar bill
And I know a spot right over the hill
There’s soda pop and the dancin’s free
So if you wanna have fun come along with me.

Say Hey, Good Lookin’, whatcha got cookin’
How’s about cookin’ somethin’ up with me.

[Mandolin & Violin solo]

I’m free and ready so we can go steady
How’s makin’ steady plans for me
No more lookin’, I know I’ve been (*tooken)
How’s about keepin’ steady company.

I’m gonna toss my Powerbook over the fence
And find me one for five or ten cents.
I’ll keep it ’til it’s covered with age
‘Cause I’m writin’ your name down on ev’ry page.

Say Hey, Good Lookin’, whatcha got cookin’
How’s about cookin’ somethin’ up with me.

Say Hey, Good Lookin’, whatcha got cookin’
How’s about cookin’ somethin’ up with me.

0 Responses to “BowenLIFT Rides the Ferry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 155,054 hits

