Testing trail runners to replace hiking boots

In a post from last May I described my plan for replacing my hiking boots with trail runners. In a subsequent article I talked about what it was like to use the trail runner for a bushwhack.  For months, the Saucony Xodus 5.0 GTX runners have worked well for me when hiking. While the Gore-Tex liners have kept my feet dry in all weather, I knew the real test would be when I was hiking in wet spring snow. (I posted more complete test of the system here.)

Yesterday the weather was grey with some occasional drizzle. I announced to my skiing buddy that we were not going to ski, I wanted to try hiking on spring snow. We drove up to the parking lot on the local hill, Hollyburn Mountain. There were only a few cars parked, and we saw very few people along the hikers’ trail. That was at 2980 feet (49.379641° -123.191288°) and there was not much snow at that elevation. We didn’t have to climb very far to find lots of wet spring corn snow. So, with my runners, and Microspikes, I was often post-holing in wet snow. Much of the time I wanted to be in the forest, away from the trail. More about my experience in a moment, but the conclusion is that I’m very pleased with this system. My friend shuffled along with snow shoes, I danced up and down the hill in my light Runners. Look:

In conditions like that, my old leather hiking boots would quickly become wet and much heavier, and my feet would become soaked and cold. With the runners, my feet never became wet. I was wearing two pairs of socks: a light hiking sock with some percentage of wool, and a thin liner sock. Probably one pair of socks would have been enough. My feet were always warm. This was partly due to the gaiters and pants that easily shed snow.

It was my first day using the Kahtoola Microspikes — and I am thrilled with them. I felt more secure on all slippy surfaces that I ever have with just hiking boots and a good Vibram sole.

The big advantage to this aging hiker is that the weight on my feet is much less with runners than with any hiking boot. I’ll probably reach for my monster Montrail Verglas boots for a mid-winter trek on a very cold high glacier. But for most hiking, you’ll likely see me wearing those Saucony runners.

In the year since I planned this system, Saucony have discontinued the Xodux 5.0 GTX and replaced it with the 6.0 GTX. I hope the new ones are made on the same last, and are as waterproof/breathable. MEC no longer carry the Istrum pants, and I don’t know what is the replacement.

The equipment I used that contributed:

  • Saucony Xodus 5.0 GTX runners
  • Kahtoola Microspikes
  • MEC Short Gaiters (only $10!)
  • StrapGear, 8″ bungee (big improvement over the laces that come with the gaiters)
  • MEC Istrum pants (easily shed snow after post-holing knee-deep, if they did get wet they were dry again in moments, cut the breeze yet vented my sweat)

This was all purchased at Mountain Equipment Co-op.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 156,776 hits

