On Spring Snow

From the top of the main lift on Mt. Strachan, looking over the runs on Black Mt. to Vancouver Island

Yesterday the weather was fine and I was determined to ski. It was only the second time this season. I am out of shape, and skinning up was a grind. I’m feeling it this morning. The temperature up there was 8ºC (14ºC at sea level when I drove off the ferry) so the surface of the snow was soft over a firm base. Hero snow! Easy skiing. Just what I need.

After the ski resort closed for the season, we headed up on April 19th. That day, it was snowing furiously and there was an abundance of snow right down to the road.

Parking at the end of the Cypress Bowl Road

Yesterday I found that much of the snowpack has vanished, and there are places on the ski runs where it is beginning to patch out.

Looking toward the north end of Bowen Island and the Sunshine Coast. Note the open patch in the snow.

In April, I thought there was so much snow we’d be skiing here until mid-June. Now, I’m not so sure.

1 Response to “On Spring Snow”


  1. 1 Lynda Trenholme May 11, 2023 at 8:48 am

    Happy Skiing? Maybe global warming😟


Leave a comment




Robert's professional sites:
Ballantyne and Associates
Governing

Jump to month

Blog Article Categories

RobertB on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 173,507 hits